Christianity · God · Inspiration · Lifestyle · postaday · postaweek

The recovery process is the hardest

I did not think I was going to post anything again this week but last night I had the above conversation with a friend and it was then it struck me that I was doing better… Recovering

I dont know if its just me or everyone else but there are times when I want the whole world to stop for a minute .. No tik-tok of a clock, no crowing of a cock, no movement on the earths axis, no noise just silence, peace. Everything just stops for a minute, a moment for me to get my mind, heart and all around me back together, right to where I want it. But if wishes were horses, beggers would ride, wouldn’t they???

Personally am getting back on my feet from quite a lot, and as the days pass it just doesn’t seem to get easier… but rather harder and harder… Who ever said it was easy??.. It like the storm before the showers, the dusk before the dawn, the struggle and pain endured right before a breakthrough. It hurts, it frightens, it literally just sucks… Recovery is hard….from a lost child, a lost job, a broken heart, loneliness, isolation, basically been shut down from the whole world… Recovery is hard 

One thing to be learnt from a recovery process is the harder you try the easier it gets for you to get back on your feet..Yet its hard to even try harder … Going the extra mile is never easy… It requires time, pampering, a lot of energy, undivided attention… All these needed strategies just to make something easier, they seem hard.. Wait they ARE HARD.

My type of breakdown that I am recovering from is more personal, influenced by those around me and of course myself. I let a mistake bring my whole life down, I never made an effort, I really just shut down. No parties, no outings, I closed myself up, I saw no hope and I felt like a complete failure. I talked to no one about it, I just lived like a ghost not taking notice that things around me were still moving and that life still went on. It was a total blackout for me. But now I think I have awoken, the dark parts are gone, I have opened up to be recovered, for the wounds to heal and the pain to subside. It hurt so bad the pain just became natural. But recovery afterall isn’t easy and its hard to try harder.

Well God is still on the throne, still watching over us all, HE kept us through those dark hours and gave us strenght to give room for recovery, HE is still watching over us whether it seems so or not. There are times when things are so bad that  you just wonder why it’s happening, why its hurting, why life sucks and why its all a great black blob. Well God says HE was there through it all, making sure we would make it through, that we would overcome and we will triumph that such challenges are little compared to the glory that’s to be recieved at the end of the day.

Joshua 1:9 –  “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Be it an addiction, a broken heart, a losr child, a shattered dream.. God was there through it all and HE says there are gonna be brighter days ahead, great days, days which are more fulfilling because Christ has paid the ultimate price for our pain, Christ has taken it all so that we shall have no discomfort.

Isaiah 53:4-5 – Surely he has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows; yet we esteemed him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted. But he was wounded for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his stripes we are healed. 

So even though recovery is hard, it takes time and a lot of effort, its gonna get better, its bound to get easier as long as we keep trying and put our mind to it that we want to truly recover from our breakdown and heartaches because it is only when we set our minds to it that we would really  be able to overcome and leave the past where it belongs and focus on the glory ahead… Recovery is never easy, it a hard task but dedication is the key.. The audacity to want to oovercome. 

Yours truly ….Jโคโค

Happy New Month everyone, and welcome to the second half of the year 2016.. I hope the grace, success, fulfillment and uplifting that would be gotten in the remaining months of this year would surely outweigh that already achieved in the first half…AMEN.

6 thoughts on “The recovery process is the hardest

  1. I don’t know why, but I always thought recovery would get easier and easier with each passing day. Boy was I ever wrong! It’s easy now, after years of relearning how to think and learning how to forgive. Great post. thank you so very much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

