God

Quenching the fire- Anger


There is this fire within us all that when lit and left to burn for too long it brings with it trouble. It burns and burns, hurts all the more,  and if not put out grows into a wildfire- Anger. Starts up small like a candlelight  but can end up a wildfire within us. You know how there are just these strategically placed people in your life who are put there to constantly annoy you and upset you to the point of anger. Seriously, that’s all they do, they add wood and gasoline to the fire and just slip away whistling like nothing had happened but then there are others who cause you to be angry without knowing. And in the end you are just standing there with the fire burning within you be it to their knowledge or without their knowledge. And all that’s left is us staying hurt and angry. 

Show me an angry person and I will show you a hurt person.

For over a year I held this burning anger against my dad. He upset me in so many ways and yet he seemed oblivious to it. It started from one thing and led to the other, I was so hurt and as the days turned to night,  weeks to months, I got more angry. Every slight thing he did upset me, I was building on the anger within me. So it ended up that I was angry and this got him angry too.  I was rude, nonchalant, and I literally avoided him like a plague. 

But was this good??  Quiet all right I had something against him but why not just let it out rather than keepingit in and letting it build up, keeping the fire burning. And I let it burn on and on for months. We had an argument over this and that every other night and it ended up becoming a routine.  The anger ruled me at that point.  I felt wronged and I felt he owed me; an apology at least but even that couldn’t fix things. It became harder and harder to get over it. I just felt so wronged. 

Ephesians 4:26

And ‘don’t sin by letting anger control you’.Don’t let the sun go down while you are still angry

But today we are working on our relationship, it’s getting better and I got over the anger.  How??? 

Communication– the key to getting over the pain someone else has caused you is firstly through communication. I let my anger build up because I refused to communicate. He was oblivious to what he had done  to hurt me and I let it be and I just got angrier as the day went by.  I refused to call his notice to what he had done and punished myself instead. And note that it’s not everytime you communicate that the other party responds positively  but just do your part. 

The need to be free– anger within us keeps us in an unknown bondage.  It holds us down and for us to free ourselves from it is to have that will to be free.  And ask ourselves how long are you going to allow the people in your life rule you?   We can’t undo what has been done or said but what we can do it control what happens in the future.

the remedy of forgiveness-the last is the will to forgive. Anger says ‘you owe me’ so you need to say ‘I forgive’. We need to cancel the debt someone owes us in order to be free and the only way to do so is to forgive.  Its never easy but that’s the only way to let go and quench that fire, because unresolved anger be it intentional or unintentional is dangerous. It eats us up. 

Ephesians 4:32-

Instead, be kind to each other, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.

Yours truly …JπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Have a blessed weekend.  

SHARE

LIKE

COMMENT 

2 thoughts on “Quenching the fire- Anger

Leave a Reply

